Books interest group

The Books Interest Group serves as a resource for Crossref and its participants to surface, discuss and make progress on metadata and workflow issues unique to book publishers. The group comprises Crossref members and nonmembers, and is led by a Chair and Crossref staff facilitators.

What we’re working on

This year, the group is focused on:

  • Reviewing book and chapter types in our metadata schema, as well as books representation in JSON outputs.
  • Best practice for books. This guide has had some recent revisions and work on it will continue this year.
  • Education and outreach: ongoing, with use cases of particular interest and most recently including Publisher Participation Reports

Suggestions for topics are welcome.


Chair: Charles Watkinson, University of Michigan Press
Facilitators: Jennifer Kemp

  • Diane Needham, ACS
  • Emily Ayubi, American Psychological Association (APA)
  • Eva Winer, American Psychological Association (APA)
  • Ian Popkewitz, American Society of Agronomy
  • Timothy McAdoo, APA
  • Jennifer Klein, Atypon
  • Nikos Markantonatos, Atypon
  • Joseph Runnacles, Boydell & Brewer Inc.
  • Tom Weterings, Brill
  • Pam Auty, Cambridge University Press
  • Mike Eden, Cambridge University Press
  • Rachael Kendall, Cambridge University Press
  • Rachael Macdonald, Cambridge University Press
  • Anne Timms, Cambridge University Press
  • Kara Hite, CFA Institute
  • James MacGregor, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, UAEU
  • Mike Taylor, Digital Science
  • Allison Belan, Duke University Press
  • Nancy Hoagland, Duke University Press
  • Patty Chase, Duke University Press
  • Anna Glazier, Edinburgh University Press
  • Melissa Kreitzer, Elsevier
  • Elin Reeves, ERSJ
  • Marc Segers, Geoscienceworld
  • Jim Beardow, IMF
  • John Brenneman, IMF
  • Patricia Loo, IMF
  • Bruce Rosenblum, Inera
  • Claire McCabe Tamberino, Johns Hopkins University Press
  • Wendy Queen, Johns Hopkins University Press
  • Kelly Swickard, Johns Hopkins University Press
  • Lauren Lissaris, JSTOR
  • Jabin White, JSTOR
  • Bill Kasdorf, Kasdorf & Associates, LLC
  • Ardie Bausenbach, Library of Congress
  • Mary Frances Gydus, MIT Press
  • Todd Carpenter, NISO
  • Eelco Ferwerda, OAPEN
  • Bill Carney, OCLC
  • Suzanne Kemperman, OCLC
  • Alison McGonagle-O’Connell, O’Connell Consulting
  • Rupert Gatti, Open Book Publishers
  • Mark Dunn, Oxford University Press
  • Amber Fischer, Oxford University Press
  • David Ruddy, Project Euclid
  • Venkatesan Jayachandran, Pukyong National University
  • Wilfred Mijnhardt, Rotterdam School of Management
  • Jennifer Cobb, SEG
  • Lutz Wind, Springer Nature
  • Alex Holzman, Temple University
  • John Normansell, The University of Manchester
  • Victor Tagore, Thesaurus
  • Paige MacKay, Ubiquity Press
  • Tom Mowlam, Ubiquity Press
  • Gabriel Alvaro, University of California Press
  • Erich Van Rijn, University of California Press
  • Michael Boudreau, University of Chicago Press
  • Krista Coulson, University of Chicago Press
  • Garrett Kiely, University of Chicago Press
  • Aaron McCollough, University of Illinois Main Library
  • Sarah Slowe, University of Kent
  • Charles Watkinson, University of Michigan Press
  • Jeremy Morse, University of Michigan Press
  • Linda McGrath, Walter de Gruyter
  • Pascal Ssemaganda, World Bank Publications
  • Hmr Ala
  • Sina Aziz
  • Ailsa Bailey
  • Ron Denton
  • Mohamed El Amraoui
  • Sun Huh
  • Aileen McHugh
  • Timothy Murray

How the group works (and the guidelines)

The group meets quarterly and comprises a staff facilitator, a chair and number of members and subscribers who commit to regular attendance and participation. Guest attendance is welcome on a per-meeting basis.

Please contact Jennifer Kemp with any questions or to join the calls.

Page owner: Jennifer Kemp   |   Last updated 2019-October-10